Lucky Charms Marshmallow Treats

It’s a beautiful Sunday here in NYC, a little more chillier than I prefer, but the sun is out and the sky is clear! I hope everyone remembered to spring forward their clocks one hour. It pains me to even say that knowing that my beloved winter season is nearing the end. But fear not I suppose, since a huge snow storm should be hitting our area on Tuesday, which means stay in and bake!

20170312_111536
When you buy more cereal than you need so you can eat some in the process ๐Ÿ™‚

Today’s recipe has absolutely everything I can want rolled up into one. Probably my favorite childhood, and adulthood let’s be honest, was Lucky Charms. Something about having marshmallows for breakfast seemed like any child’s dream. Sugar on top sugar on top sugar? Yes! Also, who didn’t have rice crispy treats as a kid? I did, but never made my own, until now!

lucky charms

Sometimes you just don’t want to pull out all the measuring tools, preheat the oven and whip out the mixer. That’s what this recipe is for! It’s pretty much under 15 minutes, stove top, dump everything into one pot kinda recipe. Show Me The Yummy’s recipe, link at the bottom of the post, is quick, clear and with only 4 ingredients, how can you not want to make it?! Let’s get to it!

20170312_110752
4 Ingredients! You can count them all on one hand

Alright, first spray a 9×13 inch pan with cooking spray and set aside. Take your 1/2 cup (1 stick) of unsalted butter and place into a deep stove pot. You want to make sure its large enough to not only add in your Lucky Charms, but to have enough depth so that you can mix everything easily without anything falling out.

Place on low heat and let your butter melt completely, takes a few minutes for this. Once the butter is melted, you are going to then add in 16oz of mini marshmallows. Unfortunately, I could not find a 16oz bag of mini marshmallows. Does this even exist? Not by me! So of course I had to get two bags of 10oz, which is fine since we all know as the butter is melting that I was going to be snacking on some.

Take your 1/2 teaspoon of salt and then pour in your 16oz of mini marshmallows. Make sure at this point you are constantly stirring so that everything mixes into a nice, smooth, yet sticky consistency.

20170312_112915
Hubby is helping me hand stir – I hate to do it!

Next, remove your mixture from heat and pour in an entire box of Lucky Charms cereal (11.5oz – not family size) and then gently stir the cereal into the marshmallows. You don’t want to be too rough or quick at this step since we don’t want to crush the cereal. A rubber spatula worked well for me.

20170312_113610

Finally, take your mixture and pour it into your prepared 9×13 inch pan. The author of the recipe noted that you can use a smaller pan like an 8×8 if you want a thicker treat. Once you’ve poured everything in, gently press the cereal into the pan to make sure it is nice and even. That’s it! You’re done! Allow the treats to cool completely before cutting them out. I let mine sit for about 90 minutes.

I managed to cut 15 pieces out of this 9×13 pan – well my husband as he’s better at it than me!

20170312_113841

20170312_115005

Perfect treat for St. Patty’s day! Enjoy!

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram @Phreya to see all my baked creations!

Lucky Charms Marshmallow Treats – Show Me The Yummy

2 comments

Leave a Reply

