Oreo Cheesecake

Happy Birthday to my husband! Today’s delectable dessert comes from a request for his birthday cake. I asked him awhile ago what he wanted his birthday cake to be if he could pick anything, and he said cheesecake. Now, there is nothing wrong with a plain cheesecake, but I wanted to do something even more delicious (if this is at all possible?). He loooves Oreo cookies, it is a really close 2nd to his love of peanut butter and chocolate. So his final decision was an oreo cheesecake, and boy is it yummy!

Did anyone else know it was National Oreo Cookie Day? I feel like I keep falling into these foodie holidays, and this one was by accident. So what better way to celebrate both my husband’s birthday and Oreo Cookie Day but a cheesecake with Oreo cookies mixed in! Yes, your eyes did not deceive you – a cheesecake, with not just an Oreo cookie garnish, but cookies mixed into to the cheesecake itself. On top of it all, or on the bottom, an Oreo cookie crust! Huzzah for Oreo goodness!

20170306_094606
Nutella and strawberry filled crepes πŸ™‚

I wanted to make my husband’s birthday special, so I thought of making him breakfast! I do dabble in cooking, but obviously prefer to bake, but I wanted to try something new. I can make eggs, I mean its one of the few breakfasts that I can do without supervision with a stove top. I wanted to top eggs, so I found this delicious simple crepe recipe at Allrecipes.com, I will link at the end, that tasted amazing and was super easy that I was able to successfully complete without causing the smoke alarm to go off.

Best thing about crepes is that you are left with an open imagination to fill them. I was thinking peanut butter and bananas, or maybe just syrup, but then it came it me – nutella and strawberries. There is this great diner right up our block and they are known for their Nutella crepes, and we’ve had it once for breakfast. Amazing! So I did my best to replicate that, and he loved it!

oreo cheesecake

Back to why we are here! Today’s recipe comes from The Brown Eyed Baker, link provided at the bottom, and here are the ingredients you will need for your cheesecake. Great thing about it? Its pretty much a one bowl recipe and that’s always my favorite thing to do!

20170305_102159
Not pictured – 6 tablespoons of melted butter needed

Ok first thing is first, set your oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9inch spring form pan. Next you will need 24 oreos crushed into a fine crumble. There are two ways of doing this, since I was lazy, I opted to use a rolling pin and crush my Oreo cookies as such. The more quicker way would be to place the cookies into a food processor. I didn’t want an extra item to clean, ahh NYC apartments… just too tiny for dishwashers, so I crushed my cookies the old fashion way.

20170305_102536
Place into a ziploc bag before crushing

Once crushed, place 6 tablespoons of unsalted butter into the microwave and melt. Take your melted butter and in a medium bowl using a fork, mix with the cookie crumbs until all have been coated with the butter. Once done, pour the crumble, which will become the crust for our cheesecake, into the greased spring form pan and press gently into the bottom of the pan and about halfway up the side.

20170305_104744.jpg

Place the pan into the fridge while you begin making the cheesecake batter. Using a stand/hand mixer, mix 4 packs of 8oz of soften cream cheese, 1 cup of granulated sugar, 2 tablespoons of all-purpose flour, and a dash of salt on a medium/low speed until creamy, roughly 3 minutes. Scrape the sides and bottom of your bowl down with a rubber spatula to insure complete incorporation of all ingredients. Next, add 1/2 cup of heavy cream and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and mix until combined. Finally, one at a time, add your 3 large eggs, mixing for about 15 seconds before each addition and your 1 egg yolk.

20170305_110701

Use your rubber spatula and mix everything a few times to make sure everything is completely mixed in. Lastly, take 12 quartered Oreo cookies and fold into your cheesecake mixture.

20170305_11103420170305_111333

Pop your pan out from the fridge and pour your cheesecake batter in. Use your spatula to smooth and even out the top. Now, here is where it became tricky for me. I have yet to bake cheesecake in my own oven so I was going into this rather blind. I should of aired on the side of shorter bake time rather than longer, but I was afraid of under baking and I know its a big no no to peak at a cheesecake while baking as that can cause the dreaded split in the middle. The recipe calls for 40-55 minutes and I took a chance and went for 50.

20170305_140250
A little more browning than I intended

Once your bake time is done, turn off the oven and leave the oven door cracked open just a tad and let the cheesecake sit for an hour. I used a wooden spoon to help keep my oven door propped open. What you want to look for in your cheesecake is a bit of puffing in the outer couple inches and the center still jiggly.

Once that hour is up, remove your cheesecake and place on a wire rack to cool completely. At this point use a knife and gently run it around the edge of the cake. Once cooled to room temperature, refrigerate for minimum 4 hours, preferably overnight. I chose to leave it in there overnight.

20170306_123210

20170306_123457

20170306_123105

When ready to serve, remove from the springform pan and allow to sit out 30 minutes prior to eating. Store in fridge otherwise.

Delicious! Enjoy!

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram @Phreya to see all my baked creations!

Oreo Cheesecake – The Brown Eyed Baker

Basic Crepes – AllRecipes.com

 

Leave a Reply

