Red Velvet Truffles

Hello there again! There was no way I was going to get through Valentine’s Day baking without making something with red velvet. If you know me, I am a sucker for anything and everything red velvet and will take any opportunity I can to create something.

Today’s recipe comes from Dessert for Two, recipe will be at the bottom. I stumbled across this baking site through Instagram when I saw these beautiful red velvet sugar cookies pressed with a white chocolate heart for Valentine’s Day. I began to wonder why the recipe only made 6 cookies – duh, the name sake of this site is Dessert for Two, meaning all recipes are made for two people to enjoy. What a great idea!

red-velvet-truffles

I was debating on what my red velvet Valentine treat would be, then fell head over heels for these truffles. It is one of the only recipes that I’ve stumbled on that has a baked from scratch red velvet recipe, as opposed to using box cake mix. Now don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against anything box mix, but I really wanted to try this from scratch recipe because it seemed so simple. I am totally a sucker for a good Pillsbury Fun-Fetti cake!

20170212_110421
Making the Red Velvet Cakes

Now, I know it seems like a lot of ingredients, but honestly, the only thing I had to purchase was the buttermilk, as it is not something I keep around. A great thing about this small recipe is that hand mixing is all you need!

Ok let’s get to it, in a medium bowl you are going to sift together the 1/3 cup plus 1 tablespoon of flour, 1/8 teaspoon of baking soda, 1/8 teaspoon of salt and 2 teaspoons of cocoa powder. Set aside.

Next in a larger mixing bowl, whisk together 1/4 cup of canola oil, 1/4 cup of granulated sugar, 2 tablespoons of buttermilk, 1 egg white, 1 teaspoon of red food coloring, 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract and finally 1/8 teaspoon of white vinegar. A lot of stuff, but mix well until combined completely.

20170212_112952

Slowly add in the dry mixture to your wet mixture and continue to whisk as you are doing so. Once completely incorporated, line a muffin/cupcake pan with 4 cupcake liners and divide the batter as such.

Set your oven to 350 degrees and place your cupcakes in to bake for 20-22minutes. Because everyone’s oven is different, mine were done at 18 minutes. Always double check if you are not sure by using a toothpick. If it comes out clean you are done!

20170212_115455
Yummy Red Velvet

Let your cupcakes cool completely before your next step.

20170212_123529
Truffle & White Chocolate Coating Ingredients

In a medium mixing bowl take 3 oz of soften cream cheese with 1 cup of confectioners sugar and mix together. Once completely incorporated, take your 4 cupcakes and crumble them up. Take the crumbled pieces and mix them with the cream cheese mixture.

20170212_124806

Taking a heaping tablespoon of the mixture, roll into a ball and place onto a lined half baking sheet. The recipe yields 10, but I managed to get 12 from this mixture, and it may be hard to see in the pic, but the truffles were pretty big! Once all the dough is rolled out, refrigerate for about 3-4 hours so that they keep shape.

Take 12 oz of your favorite type of white chocolate to melt, and melt as desired. For this recipe I just used the microwave – super quick and easy. Using a fork, roll the truffles, one at a time, in the melted chocolate until they are completely coated. Tap off any excess chocolate and place back on parchment lined baking sheet. Decorate as desired.

20170212_190825

I’ve noticed that white chocolate tends to harden fairly quickly, so if you are planning to add sprinkles to do so immediately after coating with chocolate. Once mine were all done I popped them back in the fridge, but they seem to stay just fine at room temperature. Mine didn’t seem to last too long 🙂

Enjoy!

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram @Phreya to see all my baked creations.

Red Velvet Truffles – Dessert For Two

Leave a Reply

