Chocolate Cupcakes with Raspberry Frosting

I realized that when I first started getting into baking, I would only bake cupcakes. Different upon different types of cupcakes. And now here we are and looking back the last time I crafted one of these delicious cakes was back in October of last year! It was time to pull out the cupcake pan and get back to it, and what better way then with these beautiful yet delicious treats!

Sally’s Baking Blog is my clear go to with a lot of my baked creations, she is amazing at what she does! I was going back and forth thinking do I want to do vanilla or chocolate? The great debate! I definitely am a vanilla girl myself, but who could honestly resist a chocolate cupcake donned with a creamy raspberry frosting? Not I!

chocolate cupcakes.jpg

Back to what I had mentioned earlier and my cupcake baking craze, one of the first cupcakes I baked was a dark chocolate with a raspberry filling topped with a raspberry frosting! I feel like this is a 2.0 of that version I did many moons ago, but I definitely think this one does top it all.

It honestly is like biting into a dark chocolate raspberry truffle. The combination of the sweet raspberry with the moist chocolate cake is just heaven for your taste buds. These chocolate cupcakes are different from others I have made in the past, but the difference make it all the more delightful!

Let’s get to it (recipe link at the bottom of this post)

20170212_103426
Chocolate Cupcake Ingredients

When you look at the recipe list at first it does seem daunting and overwhelming, but once the cupcakes are baked – all you have to do is make the frosting and you’re done! I find it seems a lot less difficult if you split up for ingredients and instructions for each part. This cupcake recipe yields 14, I only got 12, which was fine with me since I didn’t need another muffin/cupcake pan.

A great thing about this recipe is that no mixer is needed for the cupcakes – just the frosting! It makes clean up a lot easier.

First, in a large mixing bowl whisk together your dry ingredients – 3/4 cup of all purpose flour, 1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder, 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, 3/4 teaspoon of baking soda, and 1/4 teaspoon of salt.

20170212_105140

Next in a medium mixing bowl whisk 2 eggs, 1/2 cup of packed brown sugar, 1/2 cup of granulated sugar, 1/3 cup of vegetable oil and 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. Once mixed, take half of your wet ingredients and mix into your dry ingredients, then half of the buttermilk and stir gently, per recipe no more than 5 stirs. Add the remaining half of the wet ingredients and buttermilk and stir until just combined – do not overmix!

Spoon the batter into lined cupcake pan at halfway full. Set the oven to 350 degrees and bake for 18-19 minutes. I checked mine at 14 minutes which were perfect. I made sure to use a toothpick to make sure it came out clean.

20170212_111617
Smells so good!

Let cupcakes cool completely before frosting them. Now on to making our frosting!

20170212_123334
Frosting Ingredients

With a stand/hand mixer, beat the soften 3/4 cups of unsalted butter until creamy – roughly 3-4 minutes. Next, add in your 3 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar, 3 tablespoons of heavy cream, 1/4 teaspoon of salt, and 2 teaspoons vanilla extract while the mixer is on and make sure everything is well incorporated.

20170212_131804
Add in the raspberry jam/preserves at the end

After all ingredients are mixed, add in 1/2 cup of your raspberry preserves or jam whichever you prefer and mix until incorporated.

20170212_132054
Yummy pink frosting! ๐Ÿ™‚

If the frosting appears thinner you can add more confectioners sugar to stiffen it up. Mine seemed fine after adding the preserves to the frosting. Decorate your cupcakes however you choose, an offset spatula, or pipe out the frosting and decorate with sprinkles or garnish with fresh raspberries ๐Ÿ™‚

20170212_132719.jpg

Chocolate and raspberries? Yum! Serves 12.

Enjoy!

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram @Phreya to see all my baked creations.

Chocolate Cupcakes with Raspberry Frosting – Sally’s Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

