Happy World Nutella Day!

Happy February 5 days in! What is the one day a year that everyone looks forward to? Now I’m sure 99.9% of people would say the Super Bowl. While I’m not in anyway a football fan, (sorry! Hockey all the way!) myself and the other .1% are celebrating world nutella day!

When I was first introduced to Nutella, it was literally the beginning of the end for me. IΒ  would find everything and anything to spread it on, it goes with everything! I would have to say taking a spoon directly to the jar is still my all time favorite way to enjoy Nutella. The depressing part is when you realize no one else had any, and you’ve reached the bottom. None the less, I wanted to make something I have never done with Nutella to celebrate this day!

I came across one of my favorite baker/bloggers Sally’s Baking Addiction to find my unique Nutella treat. I have always seen some great tart recipes all over peoples blogs and Instagram, but was always very fearful to try it. Today I changed that! I decided to make a Nutella tart with a hazelnut crust and let me tell you, it did not disappoint!

nutella tart.jpg

I mean just look at that tart. It is so drool worthy, having to wait the 3-4 hours to chill it was absolutely unbearable! This was actually way simpler than I had thought!

A direct link to Sally’s Baking Addiction nutella tart will be at the bottom of this post. Lets begin!

20170205_101813
Believe it or not, not many ingredients to create this!

So what you are going to want to start with is the hazelnut crust for the tart. The recipe called for 1 cup of chopped hazelnuts. Apparently in my neck of the woods, that is very difficult to find, let a long finding hazelnuts. I took the gamble and found whole hazelnuts and would just chop 1 cup worth and go from there. If you can avoid this extra step and find the chopped hazelnuts, please go for it.

20170205_104242

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, or a silicone mat and spread out your chopped hazelnuts. You are going to set the oven for 300 degrees and roast these little guys for about 5-7 minutes. Once that’s done, remove and let cool for an additional 5 minutes before adding them to your crust mixture, also at this point set your oven to 350.

Going clockwise starting from the upper left, your processor steps

With your now cooled hazelnuts (keep 1/4 cup for garish at the end!), place into a food processor along with your 1 cup of flour, 2 tablespoons of white sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Pulse your processor until you get a sandy coarse consistency. Next, add your 1/2 cup, or 1 stick, of cold butter cubed.

Once again, pulse the food processor, this time until you get pea sized crumbs. Place the mixture into a large mixing bowl, and slowly add in 3 tablespoons of ice cold water. The recipe suggests to either use a wooden spoon, or rubber spatula.

After mixing the ice water and crust mixture, it is now time to place into your tart pan. The recipe suggested a 9inch tart pan, and that is what I used.

20170205_111729

She says you can use either floured fingers, or the bottom of a measuring cup, floured of course, to really pack that crust dough into the pan. I started out using my fingers, then to really make sure the pan was fully covered, I took a measuring cup and packed in the rest.

What is important about this recipe, and other tart recipes I’ve seen, is to use pie weights for baking. The pie weights are used to make sure the crust stays in place and doesn’t shrink or lose shape, who knew!

20170205_111934.jpg
cover your crust wither either aluminum foil or parchment paper, then add in pie weights

You are going to bake the crust for about 18-20 minutes. For some reason mine took way longer, not sure if I did the pie weight thing correctly, but I think I was closer to 26 minutes.

20170205_115323

While your pie crust is cooling, time to make the nutella filling! First, whisk together 1/2 cup of heavy cream and the 2 tablespoons of cornstarch. This is to avoid lumps in your filling. Once completed, pour into a medium saucepan with the remainder of the heavy cream ( 1 1/2 cups), 1/8 teaspoon of salt, and 3/4 of a cup of the almighty nutella. Whisk together and put the heat on medium.

20170205_121547

The key to this is to constantly be whisking the mixture as it comes to a boil. Let boil for 3 minutes, at this point you will notice the mixture getting thicker.

After the 3 minutes, take off of heat, and add in 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Place your nutella tart filling into your cooling crust. Even out the filling into the tart pan and let chill for about 3-4 hours or until firm.

After about 3 hours, because honestly that was all I could wait, my pie was nice and firm and ready to eat.

Enjoy this lovely Nutella Tart with about 8 of your friends! Happy World Nutella Day!

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram @Phreya to see all my baked creations!

Nutella Tart with Hazelnut Crust – Sally’s Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

