Ode to New York Part 2 – New York Style Cheesecake

Part 2 of Ode to New York would be what else but something that has the city in its name? New York Style Cheesecake! A classic, creamy, yummy cheesecake that is super easy to make, that even I myself was able to pull this off without any mistakes!

Today’s recipe comes from one of my all time fave sites Allrecipes.com and its called Chantal’s New York Cheesecake (link provided at the bottom of this delicious post!).

If you are a beginner cheesecake baker, like myself, this is one you definitely want to start with. My first cheesecake was a white chocolate raspberry swirl for Thanksgiving, and that one was pretty difficult in the sense that I am not used to baking times on a cheesecake. Meaning, I wasn’t sure what baked cheesecake looked like as opposed to — hmm not quite ready. Aside from that, I was using my folks oven in PA, so I really didn’t know how to account for time, but it ended up being amazing!

Funny enough, I baked and created this cheesecake at my parents apartment in NYC, so I still have yet to create one in my own oven!

ny-cheesecake

So my dad’s birthday was coming up, and since I was not going to be there to celebrate, I wanted to make him a cheesecake birthday cake for my folks to take up to PA to enjoy! This is his fave cheesecake and fit perfectly into my New York series.

Strolling around my neighborhood, you come across a lot of places to eat. As I had spoken about in my last post, what I am very excited about is all of the delicious bakeries in my area. One that has become my absolute favorite over time is Two Little Red Hens.

6085846-two_little_red_hens-_upper_eastside-0
Tiny Bakery with lines out the door!

Now it is said that they have one of the best New York Cheesecakes in the entire city, and I would gladly agree to that! Not only do they have amazing cheesecake, but by far the best red velvet cupcake. I am a lover of all things red velvet, and nothing I have tried compares to Two Little Red Hens.

So you want to make cheesecake? First and foremost you will need a springform pan. I found mine on Amazon, a 9inch Nordic Ware pan, only $15 and was labeled a best seller, so how could I go wrong?

The main ingredient in cheesecake? Lots and lots of cream cheese. But first, lets start with our crust for the cheesecake. You are going to take 15 graham crackers and crush them up. Now this can be done in a large ziploc bag and a rolling pin, or you can use a food processor. I preferred the good ol’ rolling pin.

img_20170110_165209_950

Melt 2 tbs of butter and mix with your crushed graham crackers. Once they are mixed well, you are going to line the bottom of your springform pan and press an even layer of the graham crackers. Before doing this, grease your springform pan with cooking spray so that nothing gets stuck!

img_20170110_171228_995
Nice even crust

Now for making the cheesecake. In a standing mixer or hand mixer, you are going to mix 4 8oz packs of cream cheese with 1 1/2 cups of sugar until smooth.

After this, what I recommend is mixing the rest of the ingredients by hand. What was suggested by a few comments is that the less you mix the creamier your cake will come out, plus you will avoid the dreaded crack in the middle of your cake. I, of course, read this after the fact, and had a huge crack in the middle of my cake. None the less, it still tasted great!

Next, you want to blend in your 3/4 cup of milk. After, one at a time, mix  4 large eggs into your cheesecake batter. Once again, only mix until incorporated, do not over mix!

Lastly, you are going to add in 1 cup of sour cream, 1 tbs of vanilla extract, and 1/4 of a cup of all purpose flour. Give that a mix and you are then ready to pour your batter into the springform pan.

20170110_173839

I felt as I was pouring in the batter it was getting way too close to the top, so I did have a bit leftover that I didn’t end up using, in case this happens to you as well.

The best part about this recipe is that once you pop this into the oven you leave it alone for a solid 6 hours. Isn’t that great? Plop ingredients into one pan and leave alone.

Set your oven to 350 degrees and put the cheesecake into the oven. You are going to bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees. Once it has been an hour, as hard as it may be, do not open to peak at the cake. Turn the oven off, with your cheesecake still in there, and let it cool in the oven for roughly 5-6 hours. I left mine in for 6 hours.

20170111_171013
Too much mixing! But still was amazing!

At that point, remove your cheesecake and let chill in the refrigerator until you are ready to serve.

This cake was creamy and delicious! Makes 12 servings – enjoy!

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram @Phreya to see all my baked goods!

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake – Allrecipes.com

Two Little Red Hen’s Bakery

Springform Pan – Amazon.com

One comment

Leave a Reply

