Valentine M&M Blondies

It’s an on/off rainy dreary day here in New York City, what else is there to do on your day off then to bake something easy and delicious.

Now, let’s all forget for a second that these are Valentine’s Day themed M&M’s and just look at the fact that these are an ooey gooey treat that is made in one bowl! My favorite thing about spur of the moment baking is not having to use every baking tool in my arsenal to create something!

mmblondies

So, on Sunday my husband and I do our grocery shopping, and unfortunately grocery/drug stores are already pushing the Valentine’s Day candy. FYI, if I didn’t walk down the seasonal aisle, this wouldn’t be a problem, but of course I did! Aside from picking up a bag of M&M peanuts to snack on, I felt inspired to create something with these festive little candies.

20170115_114427
What you’ll need (All-purpose flour not shown, but needed!)

Now, I tried making these once before back in December with the Christmas version of M&M’s, and unfortunately they did not turn out too great. I don’t think it was the recipe too much, as I rushed the process and was not really paying attention to the cooking time. I can be very particular with what recipe I pick, and with things like brownies, blondies even chocolate chip cookies – there are so many variations. None the less, I found one that was not only fairly simple, but had some interesting ingredients that I thought would make them taste amazing!

Ok, for our M&M Blondies, recipe link at the bottom of the post of course, this recipe called for 1 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter. Thankfully, one thing I have a plethora of in my fridge is sticks of butter. No time needed to wait for it to soften as this recipe asks for you to melt the butter.

20170115_115124
Melt 1 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter over low/med heat

It’s best to cut the butter into roughly 1inch pieces, for just easier and more even melting. Now what you are looking for is an amber like color. The recipe notes that it should have a “nutty” smell and you will start noting some brown specs sticking to the bottom of your saucepan. So me not having any idea what I was doing, and fearing of over heating the butter, I kept my heat fairly low. Eventually I did start smelling the nut smell and it was appearing amber in color.

You can see now we have a nice amber color, and the noted brown specs on the bottom of the sauce pan

Alright, with that done, take a large mixing bowl and you are going to add both your white and brown sugar. I know I snapped a pic of the light brown, but I ended up using my dark brown sugar. No reason of change, just decided to, and for this recipe, either will suffice.

Scoop out 1 cup of packed brown sugar and add in 1/4 cup of the white sugar. Pour in your melted butter and mix.

20170115_121159.jpg
one bowl mixture for everything!

Now, once that is combined, using a wooden spoon, you are going to add 1 large egg, 1 tbs of vanilla extract, 1/4 cup of heavy whipping cream, and 1/4 tsp of salt and mix. Once you get that nice and incorporated, finally add in your 1 and 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour, 1 full cup for chocolate chip morsels, and 1/2 cup of m&m’s.

Once that is mixed in you are going to take your mixture and pour it into a greased 9×9 inch baking pan. Now, I’ve noticed most square pan recipes call for a 9×9, but in my baking pan set, that was given to me as a gift, included an 8×8. Why is nothing ever baked in an 8×8?? Anyway, this calls for improvisation, which I did.

Ok, now since I already have to do a lot of baking adjustments, due to my smaller oven and my dark baking pans, I decided to adjust the baking temp, and check it at the 20min mark to see how everything was baking. Once, you’ve poured your batter into the pan, use the remaining 1/2 cup of m&m’s and lightly press them into the batter on top.

If you have a 9×9 baking pan, the recipe calls for baking at 350 degrees for 25-30min. They also mentioned that optimal baking time would be about 27min. If, like me, you have a 8×8, set the oven to 325 degrees. I checked it at 20 min and it didn’t appear to be just ready. 5 more minutes on the timer and it was perfect!

20170115_142810

I let mine cool for about 1hr, if you can wait that long, before popping them out of the pan and cutting them up. Perfect for any holiday m&m and any rainy day!

Makes 16 servings.

Please don’t forget to follow me on Instagram @Phreya to see all my baked creations!

Valentine M&M Blondies -DessertedPlanet.com

One comment

Leave a Reply

