Spiced Apple Cider Donuts

Back to work and back to reality! First week since vacation I was back at work and it felt like Sunday would never come!

Today, I will be showing you a spiced apple cider donut recipe that I found on Sally’s Baking Addiction (recipe link at the end). Just about any apple picking orchard has these delightful treats at their little shops, and they are just the best! These donuts are baked, not fried, so not so bad for you if you have more than one!

appleciderdonutcover

This is a very simple and quick recipe to follow, so if you are craving some donuts and apple cider this is for you!

The first thing you want to do is pour 1 and 1/4 cup of apple cider into a small sauce pan and have on a low/med simmer for roughly 15 – 2omin. I went for the 15min mark and mine turned out great. Thankfully, my local grocery store had some apple cider on hand, so I didn’t have to truck around to multiple stores looking for it.

20161009_111658
Simmering some apple cider, yum!

The recipe mentions that you can add additional spices to your simmering cider to enhance and add some flavor, but I went just for the apple cider taste!

Once the cider is simmered, you are going to want to store it in the fridge to allow it to cool before mixing it in to your wet ingredients. I simply poured mine into a cup and popped it in the fridge, as my fridge is full and tiny, with no room for a sauce pan.

While that’s cooling, set the oven to 350F, and spray your donut pan with a non-stick cooking spray. The donut pan is one of my treasured purchases. I thought after my first donut creation, nutella donuts, I would never use it again. This being my 3rd donut creation, I can definitely recommend having one of these. I got mine off of Amazon for like $7, and prime shipping its here in 2 days! I’ll post a link at the bottom.

20161009_112222

Next, you will want to mix all of your dry ingredients together. This includes the following:

  • All-Purpose Flour (2 cups)
  • Baking Powder (3/4 teaspoon)
  • Baking Soda (1 teaspoon)
  • Ground Cinnamon (1 teaspoon)
  • Ground Cloves (1/4 teaspoon)
  • Salt (1/4 teaspoon)

Once that is all mixed  together, you can set it aside and the begin mixing the wet ingredients.

20161009_112042

Mix, in a medium bowl, the 1 large egg, the granulated sugar, brown sugar (light or dark), melted butter until creamy. Then you will add in 1/2 cup of buttermilk, 1/2 cup of that apple cider that’s been hanging out in the fridge, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract.

Take your wet ingredients and add them to your dry. It is important that you only mix until incorporated, and not to over mix the batter. Over mixing will cause the cake to be more dense and not as soft.

20161009_114009
Wet into dry ingredients

Now that everything is mixed you are ready to fill your donut pan! For my own ease, I used a piping bag, but you can easily take a large ziploc and cut the corner and pipe it into the donut cavity that way. Or you can even spoon in your mixture.

20161009_114737
Loaded up and ready to go!

Pipe the donut mixture into each cavity and fill about 2/3 full. Ideally, the recipe should make 14 donuts, I had a little mishap when loading my batter into the piping bag and lost some of it, so I got 12 donuts.

20161009_114937

Bake these suckers for roughly 9-10min, I checked mine at 7min, and they were able to go for 9 min and came out perfect!

20161009_123158

Once your donuts are cool enough, then comes the fun part of covering them in delicious cinnamon sugar.

Melt 1/2 a stick of butter and set aside. In a separate bowl, add 3/4 cup of granulated sugar with 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon. Mix together and set aside. Taking one donut at a time, lightly dip the donut into the melted butter. Take said donut and then cover it in the cinnamon sugar mixture. I got a little messy and made sure to cover the donut completely with my hands. The recipe states that you may need more mixture, but with the 12 I made I just had enough without any excess that needed to be tossed.

20161009_142848

Cake, cinnamon, and sugary goodness wrapped up in one little donut, enjoy!

Sally’s Baking Addiction – Spiced Apple Cider Donuts

Amazon.com – Wilton 6 Cavity Donut Pan

Follow me in Instagram @phreya to see all my baked creations!

Leave a Reply

