Pumpkin Scones

Last day of vacation, so probably won’t be doing much posting until the weekends, but all good things must come to an end!

Wandering the endless aisles of the grocery store is overwhelming enough, to add insult to injury you never go when you’re hungry. Browsing the frozen aisle, more specifically the ice cream aisle, I stumbled across a section of these absolutely delicious pints of ice cream made by Halo Top (@halotop to follow them on Instagram, because nothing better than more food in your feed!). Now the outside says, for this flavor specifically, it is 280 cal total for the whole pint! Which I find hard to believe, but it was birthday cake and hell if I was gonna go through, possibly, an entire pint of ice cream, I’d rather not feel too guilty about it.

20161003_173935
So Delicious!

It taste wonderful, it’s magical, it’s everything and more. I’m not a huge ice cream fan, but these are my new go to when I’m craving it! A must buy if you happen to see them!

All ice cream talk aside, today I will be showing you these pretty amazing Starbucks copycat recipe of their pumpkin scones.

pumpkinsconecover2

A way to my heart? Something with pumpkin in it. It isn’t until the fall/winter season that I am truly ever desiring pumpkin-ish pumpkin spice related things, but when they are in my face, as they are every morning on my way to work, it’s hard not to buy one.

This recipe came from a The Brown Eyed Baker(link to recipe down below). I believe it is a great copycat to the real thing.

I’ve only made scones once before previously, so I’m not the most comfortable with it. I am constantly reading the recipe over and over to make sure I’m not missing a step to ensure they will come out perfect. This, like any other pumpkin recipe, called for a lot of ingredients (mainly the many spices) to assemble.

You’re gonna first set your oven to 425 F and pull out a baking sheet and cover it with parchment paper. What I did first was combined all the dry ingredients together. Now, with most recipes when using butter it is normally out at room temperature, but with items like scones, you’re gonna want chilled butter.

Once the dry ingredients are combined, you’re gonna take your chilled butter (6 tablespoons cut into small cubes) and combined it. The last time I did this, which you can do, is used a fork and crumbled the dry with the chilled butter. As mentioned in previous post, I have little to no strength in my arms, so this time around I purchased what is called a pasty blender.

20161004_164808.jpg
$9.99 at Amazon.com

Even if you use it once in your baking life, I recommend buying it. Was a mere $9.99 on Amazon.com – will provide a link to it at the bottom, and it just makes life so much easier. There are many out there, I took mine based off reviews and it was an Amazon Best Seller, so can’t go wrong.

Anyway, using the pastry blender or fork, you are going to mix the chilled butter cubes into your dry ingredients. You want it to be crumbly, and as stated on her site, you want the butter to be no larger than the size of a pea in your mixture.

Next, take those wet ingredients and mix them up in a separate bowl (pumpkin, 1 large egg, and half-and-half). Once those are combined you are going to mix the wet with the dry. Now with this part you only want to mix until just combined, do not over mix!

On a clean surface, you are going to take you mixture and knead the dough until it is completely combined. I would suggest flouring the surface you are going to knead on, along with your hands or its gonna stick to everything (trust me).Β  Once you have a nice ball of dough, you are gonna flatten it into a roughly 7inch circle, it will look like a pizza pie. With that I would take either a dough cutter, or knife that is long enough, flour it, and cut 8 even triangles.

20160918_112948
Before heading in the oven

Place your 8 triangles onto the baking sheet and place in the oven for 12-14min. Like I said before, my oven cooks much faster, by 11min they were already way done – I think they would of been fine at the 10min mark, they were a little burnt at 11min.

20160918_114358
A little burnt, but still soft and delicious!

You’re gonna want them to cool complete before glazing them. Once they are cool time for the first glaze. It’s your basic powdered sugar glaze. Combine 1 cup powdered sugar with 2 table spoons of milk, if its too thick you can add more milk.

The recipe called for brushing this on the top of each scone to coat, but I kinda just dunked them it as i wanted a nice thick coating for the first layer.

20160918_125541

You’re gonna want to let that sit for about 15-20 minutes so it has time to harden before applying the spiced glaze.

To make the spice glaze, you’re gonna repeat what you did for the powdered sugar glaze, but also you are going to add ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg, ground ginger and ground cloves. Again, add more milk if the mixture seems too thick.

You can use a piping bag, or even a zip loc bag with a corner cut off to apply the spiced glaze, or a spoon to drizzle over the scones.

20160918_131954

Whatever the method, you are left with these delicious and beautiful scones! Enjoy!

Brown Eyed Baker – Pumpkin Scones (Starbucks Copycat)

Amazon.com – Dough Blender Tool

Follow me on Instagram @phreya to see all my baked creations!

 

Leave a Reply

