Apple Cinnamon White Cake

Not planning to ever be this active with blogging, but with so many days off I have the time so why not!

I’ve spent a lot of my time off playing World of Warcraft. I’ve been playing for roughly 10 years, and I can’t seem to shake it. This new expansion Legion has brought my love back to the game. So many things to do, my husband and I can spend half the day questing, running dungeons, etc. =)

20161003_150404

Nice weather today in NYC going up to mid 70s hardly feels like a brisk fall day, but at this point anything beats the summer heat. With hubby and myself both off we were able to run errands that probably would never get done until the weekend, so its a nice change of pace.

20161003_153559
Love this stuff!

Compiling this blog sure built up my appetite and you’re never too old for a peanut butter and jelly sandwich! I found this gem at my local grocery store and let’s just say I am a little ashamed of the collection I have built up in short period of time. Maple, chocolate, and cinnamon raisin just to name a few. Follow them on Instagram @peanutbutterco to check out all of there flavors (seasonal or not) and fun recipes!

Okay getting back on track, today I am posting this delicious apple cinnamon white cake/loaf I found on my Facebook feed from AllRecipes.com (link posted at the bottom). Made this about a week ago, but it was super simple and definitely gives a great fall taste with the mixture of apples and cinnamon.

applewhitecakecover

While I am a huge fan of pumpkin and pretty much anything that has pumpkin spice in it, it is a nice change of pace to have the smell of baking apples fill your apartment for all of the neighbors to be envious of!

Apple picking season is upon is, and as much as I enjoy filling my bags with all sorts of different types of apples, I don’t have much space in my apartment and wouldn’t dare want these beauties to go to waste. So I headed to my local Whole Foods to find my favorite baking apple, Granny Smith, to put together this lovely loaf. Thankfully the recipe only called for one apple so the peeling, coring, and chopping was a mere task.

20160925_125305
Simple layering of the ingredients

So like I said, super easy recipe for anyone to take on! Preheat that oven to 350 and grease and flour a loaf pan, they asked for a 9×5, but I have an 8.5×5 and it did the job just fine.

I washed, peeled, cored, and chopped up my apple first and set it aside. Then in a small bowl I mixed the brown sugar and cinnamon. Next, in my handy Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer, I combined the wet ingredients. While that is mixing in a separate bowl, I took the dry ingredients and mixed them together (flour and baking powder)

Once you’ve mixed the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and everything is mixed well, the fun part begins! Take half of that batter and pour it into the prepared loaf pan. Next, add half of your chopped apples. Press the apples gently into the batter and top those apples with half of your brown sugar cinnamon mix. Repeat those steps with the remaining batter, apples and brown sugar cinnamon mix.

Using a spoon or finger (I went for spoon) swirl the mixture so that the layers blend together slightly, nothing too crazy.

Place it in the oven for 30-40 minutes or until a knife/toothpick comes out clean. My oven is more on the quicker side of baking, plus all of my pans are the darker ones, but for some reason this recipe was done at the 40 minute mark as opposed to the 30minute. Always check on your baked goodies to avoid burning! I thought I knew my oven well enough, but I guess not!

20160925_135558

The hardest part, of course, is waiting for the pan to cool completely before popping it out, slicing it and serving, but the smell of baked apples was nice to enjoy!

My loaf didn’t last too long, but best to store in either an air tight container, or what I did was wrap in saran wrap and then placed in a gallon ziploc for storage.

AllRecipes.com – Apple Cinnamon White Cake

Follow me on Instagram @phreya to see all my baked creations!

Leave a Reply

